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Voting In Oklahoma

A Guide for Citizens with Disabilities

Remember primary elections are on July 27, 2010!!!

Voting is your constitutional right and responsibility as a citizen. It is an important way to help select the national, state and local officials who make laws, design programs and decide how tax dollars are spent.

National elections for president usually get the most attention, but it is the people who are elected to state and local positions that have the real power to affect your daily life.
Take time to learn who your elected officials are and how their decisions can affect you. You can go to the Oklahoma Legislature on the Internet at http://www.lsb.state.ok.us and select the button called “Find Your Legislator" to find out who your state and U.S. representatives are. You may also call (800) 522-8502, (800) 522-8506 (Relay Oklahoma) or (800) 722-0353 (TDD).

When you become a part of the election process you can work to elect people who support the issues that matter most to you.

Who is Eligible?

A person who is eligible to register to vote must be at least 18 years old, a United States citizen and a resident of Oklahoma.

Some persons who have legal guardians are not eligible to vote because of the type of guardianship a judge determined. If you have a guardian, or have a guardianship order pending, ask your guardian or the judge about your right to register and vote.

How to Register

You must fill out an application form. Forms are available at your County Election Board, post offices, tag agencies, libraries and many other public locations. You will be offered a voter registration application when you get your driver’s license and when you apply for assistance at some government agencies.

You also may print an application form on the State Election Board Web site at http://www.elections.state.ok.us, call (405) 521-2391, or send a request to receive a form by U.S. Mail at P.O. Box 53156, Oklahoma City, OK 73152.

The application form asks for:

· your name and address

· your political affiliation

· your birth date

· your driver’s license number

· the last four digits of your Social Security number (required if no driver’s license).

You must sign and date the oath printed on the form.

When to Register

You may submit your voter registration application form at any time. However, voter identification cards cannot be issued during the 24 days before to an election. If the County Election Board receives your application during the 24 days before an election, you will not receive your voter identification card until after the election. If you will become 18 during the 60 days before an election, you may apply for voter registration between 25 and 60 days before the election.

How to Submit Your Application

You may mail your voter registration application to the State Election Board. The card is addressed, but you must add a first-class postage stamp. If you fill out your voter registration application form at a tag agency when you get your driver’s license or when you apply for assistance at a government agency the agency will mail the form to the State Election Board for you.

If you are unable to fill out and sign or make a mark on the application, contact your County Election Board for more information.

Voter ID Card

You do not become a registered voter until the County Election Board in the county where you live has approved your application. When your application is approved, the County Election Board will mail a voter identification card to you. Your voter identification card lists your name, address, political party affiliation and the precinct, or polling place, where you will vote.

When you receive your voter identification card, look at it carefully and report any errors to the County Election Board immediately. Keep your voter identification card in a safe place and always take it with you when you go to vote. Some new registered voters are asked for identification when they vote for the first time in certain kinds of elections.

At the Polling Place

Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. If you are in line to vote at 7 p.m., you will be able to vote. Poll workers will ask your name, and ask you to sign a registry. They will give you a ballot and a pen, and direct you to a voting booth. After you mark your ballot, put it in the voting device and leave the polling place. Every county in Oklahoma uses electronic vote counting devices.

Voter Assistance

Some voters need assistance, and poll workers are trained to assist voters who need it. 

They include: 

· Voters who have a physical disability and are unable to mark their own ballots. 

· Voters who cannot read. 

· Voters who are blind or have a visual disability.
· Voters who are physically unable to enter the polling place.

Accessibility of Polling Places

Election officials work to assure that polling places are in accessible buildings. Curbside voting is available for voters who are unable to enter the polling place.

Absentee Voting

Regular Application - Any registered voter in Oklahoma may vote by absentee ballot. It is not necessary to give a reason for voting absentee. Follow the special instructions on page 2 of the application for submitting this request.

Incapacitated Application - Any registered voter in Oklahoma who is physically incapacitated or charged with the care of another person who is physically incapacitated and who cannot be left alone may vote by absentee ballot.

Contact your County Election Board if you want or need to vote by absentee ballot.

Closed Primary System

Oklahoma has a closed primary system. Only voters who are registered members of a recognized political party may vote for the party’s candidates in primary and runoff primary elections. Registered Independent voters may be eligible to vote in party’s primaries and runoff primaries if authorized by the party.

However, nonpartisan judicial offices, state questions and county questions often are included in primary elections. All registered voters, including Independents, are entitled to receive those ballots. At general elections, all voters receive the same ballot and may vote for any candidate or question on the ballot.

Changing Your Registration

You may need to change your voter registration. Changes you may need to make are:

· your address

· your name

· your political affiliation.

You must fill out another voter registration application to change your voter registration. You may change your registration at any time with one exception. You may not change your political affiliation during the period from June 1 through August 31, inclusive, in any even-numbered year. The last day on which you may change your political affiliation before the closed period is May 31; the first day on which you may change your political affiliation after the closed period is Sept. l.

Cancelled Registrations

In most cases, voter registration is permanent. However, some voter registrations are canceled. 

The County Election Board may cancel a registration:

· if the voter dies

· if the voter is convicted of a felony

· if the voter has a guardianship order that has removed the right to vote

· if the voter moves and registers again in another county or in another state 
· if the voter asks the County Election Board in a written, notarized statement to cancel the registration

· if the voter does not respond to correspondence from the County Election Board and does not vote for more than four years
For additional information about voting in Oklahoma, contact your local County Election Board or the Oklahoma State Election Board at P.O. Box 53156, Oklahoma City, OK 73152, (405) 521-2391. The State Election Board Web site is http://www.elections.state.ok.us.
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Oklahoma State Election Board

(405) 521-2391

If you have a problem at your polling place on an election day; contact your County Election Board listed below. 

County Election Boards in Oklahoma

	County Name
	Phone Number

	Adair
	918-696-7221

	Alfalfa
	580-596-2718

	Atoka
	580-889-5297

	Beaver
	580-625-4742

	Beckham
	580-928-3314

	Blaine
	580-623-5518

	Bryan
	580-924-3228

	Caddo
	405-247-5001

	Canadian
	405-422-2422

	Carter
	580-223-5290

	Cherokee
	918-456-2261

	Choctaw
	580-326-5164

	Cimarron
	580-544-3377

	Cleveland
	405-366-0210

	Coal
	580-927-3456

	Comanche
	580-353-1880

	Cotton
	580-875-3403

	Craig
	918-256-7559

	Creek
	918-224-3529

	Custer
	580-323-5124

	Delaware
	918-253-8762

	Dewey
	580-328-5668

	Ellis
	580-885-7721

	Garfield
	580-237-6016

	Garvin
	405-238-3303

	Grady
	405-224-1430

	Grant
	580-395-2862

	Greer
	580-782-2307

	Harmon
	580-688-2460

	Harper
	580-735-2313

	Haskell
	918-967-8792

	Hughes
	405-379-2174

	Jackson
	580-482-2370

	Jefferson
	580-228-3150

	Johnson
	580-371-3670

	Kay
	580-362-2130

	Kingfisher
	405-375-3895

	Kiowa
	580-726-2509

	Latimer
	918-465-3703

	LeFlore
	918-647-3701

	Lincoln
	405-258-1349

	Logan
	405-282-1900

	Love
	580-276-2242

	McClain
	405-527-3121

	McCurtain
	580-286-7405

	McIntosh
	918-689-2452

	Major
	580-227-4520

	Marshall
	580-795-5460

	Mayes
	918-825-1826

	Murray
	580-622-3800

	Muskogee
	918-687-8151

	Noble
	580-336-3527

	Nowata
	918-273-0710

	Okfuskee
	918-623-0105

	Oklahoma
	405-713-1515

	Okmulgee
	918-756-2356

	Osage
	918-287-3036

	Ottawa
	918-542-2893

	Pawnee
	918-762-2125

	Payne
	405-747-8350

	Pittsburg
	918-423-3877

	Pontotoc
	580-332-4534

	Pottawatomie
	405-273-8376

	Pushmataha
	580-298-3292

	Roger Mills
	580-497-3330

	Rogers
	918-341-2965

	Seminole
	405-257-2786

	Sequoyah
	918-775-2614

	Stephens
	580-255-8782

	Texas
	580-338-7644

	Tillman
	580-335-2287

	Tulsa
	918-596-5780

	Wagoner
	918-485-2142

	Washington
	918-337-2850

	Washita
	580-832-3658

	Woods
	580-327-1452

	Woodward
	580-256-3609


